Wk. 12 – Artist Conversation – Jennifer Chen

Artist: Jennifer Chen
Exhibition: Succession
Media: Digital print, print making, gloss
Gallery: CSULB School of Art,
Website: None
Instagram: None

This week I got to learn about an artist named Jennifer Chen. She is in the fine arts program here at CSULB and an undergraduate student in Biology. Her art, as she says, reflects mostly a merge with art and science. Her work has more of an urban feel to it as well. She is exploring different things in each of her pieces so there is really not one specific thing that she wants to explore in her work. She likes to look at different landmarks and do a lot of adventurous things, which reflect in her pieces.

The materials that she mostly uses for her work is prints and gloss. As you can see above, her art is in the form of a digital print, but in the print expresses a lot about her as an artist. I would say that her work is very simple and basic. Which is a great thing because I think that we all understand the point of it more and the meaning behind it. everything is very straight and exact. Has a lot of jagged lines on the inside of the print, but on the outer part, it is more straight and formal looking.

I think that she is just a simple person and she is just expressing herself in the best way that she knows how. These pieces that she has done are really cool and I like them a lot. She seemed like a very passionate person in what she is doing and in what she does and that really does show in her pieces of art. When she was talking to us about every little detail about her prints, it seemed like she loved it and was very excited about her work.

I thought that these prints were really cool. I love all of the colors in them and I also love that they are digital. I am a digital person and I love everything about the internet and digital things in general, so these prints were really cool for me to look at. I have never seen anything like this before and I think that is why I was so amazed and liked them so much. Awesome stuff, would love to see it in an exhibit.

Leave a Reply

